Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Opening an international branch
Hi I'm fairly new to this game and while it seems to have tremendous depth I feel as though i've just scratched the surface. Started my first company (after playing a few years with the demo then realizing it was well worth the sale price on steam.) in Portland and have successfully expanded to Seattle and San Francisco.

Here's the problem - I want to open a branch in Vancouver (which I've done) and despite it having a reasonably good per capita and some marketing expenses I am getting no sales. What gives? is there some restriction on international distribution up to a certain year or something? From what I can tell there is no visible sign of a restriction, I'm just not getting any sales in Canada. Is there some extra step I have to go through or what? This is in version 1.19.

Thanks in advance and thanks to Eric for making such an amazing game!
Good morning, Sorry for the late reply I am currently out of the office.

(03-13-2016, 07:21 PM)irsmert Wrote: Here's the problem - I want to open a branch in Vancouver (which I've done) and despite it having a reasonably good per capita and some marketing expenses I am getting no sales. What gives?

I would need a little information, such as what years are you playing and what is the sales prices of the vehicles you are trying to sell.

Working off the asumption that you are playing in early 1900s, there are two reasons that your sales would be low.

A major reason would be per capita income. Candaians make $219 at the start of the game where as Americans are making more. The game works on a wealth distribution system that mimics real life. The higher you price a vehicle retaliative to an area's income, the less sales you will get. At around 5x per capita you are limiting your self to less than one percent of the number of people buying vehicles.