Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
re-tooling
Just like to suggest something about re-tooling of factories.
Ive worked in factories for a few years.
I have never known my company spend 2 to 4 million every year on re-tooling , never
mind 30 odd.
just suggesting looking at decreasing the ammount of re-tooling to make it more
realustic.
worked in one for ten years and was never re-tooled.
actually even now after 17 years it's still the same, !
On the surface I agree with you that retooling feels way to expensive, even more so for branches than factories. I think it is the way it is mostly from a game balance perspective though. I doubt Eric will be willing to reduce it untiill he he gets more $ sinks iinto the game.

I'm curious what your factory makes? I ask becasue I'm a sales manager for a plywood factory (and I worked on the floor at the same factory for a few years about a decade ago) and I would agree that we spend next to nothing on re-tooling. General maintinance, yes, but re-tooling no. I have to wonder if retooling is allso supposed to incorperate maintinance as well?

My understandng of the automotive industry though is that re-tooling is a fairly significannt cost of running a factory.
I imagine it would be different for every industry. Eric has automotive industry experience so mmaybe he can shhed some lighht on it for us?

P.S. Sorry for alll the extra letters and the odd missing space. I'm using a new keybouard Ibought for my tabllet annd it's a bit touchy.......
I was line mananger for a motorbike assembly line ,
and computer components.
I agree that maintenance is a constant expenditure.
Re-tooling on the computer components was quite often , but not the expenditure in
gearcity.
The motorbike factory was not re-tooled while I worked there. Even though we had certain
Component changes.
If maintenance is incorporated into re-tooling in the game then the cost makes more sense.
However I still dont agree with the cost ammount in gearcity.